CFA Recognition Awards

Enter Now

Deadline for Submissions:
January 18

The CFA Recognition Awards recognize outstanding achievements and contributions made to the Canadian franchise community in various ways. Franchised business represents a significant portion of the Canadian economy that embodies and promotes a strong entrepreneurial spirit and work ethic.

The six awards highlight and focus on specific areas within the franchise business model:

  • Hall of Fame
  • Outstanding Corporate Citizen
  • Diversity & Inclusion Champion
  • Volunteer Leadership Excellence
  • Lifetime Achievement
  • Distinguished Franchise Support Service/Supplier

More information about each award can be found in the next tab.

For more information, please contact Alexandra Mann, Coordinator, Member Engagement & Operations at

Hall of Fame Award (available to Franchise Systems only):
Presented in recognition of outstanding performance over a significant length of time. Systems that receive this award will generally have a high brand recognition either regionally or nationally and are recognized for their solid business performance.

Outstanding Corporate Citizen Award (available to Franchise Systems only):
Given to a franchise that has exhibited genuine and ongoing philanthropic concern for a community or social service group(s). This is illustrated through their dedicated continued financial support and the impact both upon those served in the community and within the corporate culture of the franchise system.

Lifetime Achievement Award (available to both Franchise System and Franchise Supplier Professionals):
Recognizes exceptional achievement and contribution to the Canadian franchise industry and the community at large through demonstrated excellence throughout one’s lifetime and career in franchising.

Volunteer Leadership Excellence Award (available to Franchise System and Franchise Supplier Professionals):
Given to an individual who exemplifies the spirit of franchising through their volunteer activities and work as an ambassador for franchising and the Canadian Franchise Association.

Diversity & Inclusion Champion Award (available to Franchise Systems only):
Recognizes a company or individual for extraordinary leadership and contribution towards improving and promoting diversity and inclusion within their workplace and the franchise community in Canada.

Distinguished Franchise Support Service/Supplier  (available to Franchise Supplier Professionals and Organizations):
Recognizes a person or company for their efforts and contributions in supporting the franchise industry and the Canadian Franchise Association at large.

Each year, submissions are solicited from CFA members across Canada and winners are selected by the committee based on merit. For each award, consideration is given to a range of factors which include:

  • Achievement of the objectives being recognized
  • Participation in and support of CFA, its Purpose and Mission
  • Information provided in the submission.

Brands/individuals can only win once in each category and can submit multiple nominations for each category that they have not previously won in.

For more information, contact Alexandra Mann, Coordinator, Member Engagement & Operations at

Hall Of Fame Award

2018 - Kumon
2017 – CARA Operations Ltd.
2016 – Charlwood Pacific Group
2015 – Pizza Pizza
2014 – Booster Juice
2013 – Dairy Queen Canada
2012 – White Spot Restaurants
2011 – Second Cup
2010 – Expedia CruiseShipCenters
2009 – A&W Food Services of Canada
2008 – Tim Hortons
2007 – M&M Meat Shops
2006 – No Award Given
2005 – Cora’s Breakfast and Lunch
2004 – No Award Given
2003 – Boston Pizza International
2002 – McDonald’s Restaurants of Canada
2001 – No Award Given
2000 – Kwik Kopy Printing Canada
1999 – Tim Hortons
1998 – Algonquin Travel
1997 – Comac Food Group
1996 – Mr. Lube
1995 – M&M Meat Shops
1994 – Color Your World
1993 – First Choice Haircutters
1992 – Country Style Donuts CSD
1991 – McDonald’s Restaurants of Canada
1990 – Mr. Submarine Limited
1989 – Kentucky Fried Chicken Canada
1988 – Shoppers Drug Mart
1987 – The LIV Group

Lifetime Achievement Award*

2018 - Randy Moore, Mister Transmission
2017 – George A. Cohon, Mc Donald’s Restaurants of Canada
2016 – Gordon Reid, Giant Tiger Stores Limited
2015 – Ralph Chiodo, Active Green + Ross
2014 – John Woodburn, CJ Woodburn & Associates
2013 – Cora Tsouflidou, Cora Breakfast & Lunch
2012 – George Melville & Jim Treliving, Boston Pizza International
2011 – Mac Voisin, M&M Meat Shops
2010 – Edward (Ned) Levitt, Aird & Berlis LLP
2009 – Frank Zaid, Osler Hoskin & Harcourt LLP
2008 – Louie Mele, McDonald’s Restaurants of Canada

*Recipient companies are listed as at time of award presentation

Outstanding Corporate Citizenship Award

2018 - BioPed Footcare
2017 – Dairy Queen Canada
2016 – Home Instead Senior Care, Canadian Tire
2015 – Royal LePage
2014 – A&W Food Services of Canada Inc., CARSTAR Automotive Canada Inc.
2013 – COBS Bread
2011 – Tim Hortons (TDL Corporation)
2010 – 4Refuel
2009 – White Spot Restaurants Ltd.
2008 – Home-Alyze, Joey’s Only Seafood Restaurants
2007 – Boston Pizza International
2006 – St. Louis Bar & Grill
2005 – M&M Meat Shops
2004 – No Award Given
2003 – McDonald’s Restaurants Canada, Ricky’s Family Restaurants, Humpty’s Restaurants International, Stonewater Group
2002 – The Firkin Group of Pubs, Shoppers Drug Mart, De Dutch Pannekoek House
2001 – Topper’s Pizza
2000 – Choice Hotels Canada, Cora’s Breakfast and Lunch, Golden Griddle Corporation
1999 – M&M Meat Shops, McDonald’s Restaurants Canada, Tim Hortons

Diversity and Inclusion Award*

2018 - Ruthie Burd, The Lunch Lady

*Recipient companies are listed as at time of award presentation

Volunteer Leadership Excellence Award*

2018 - The Changing Workplaces Taskforce
2017 – Michael Sherrard, Sherrard Kuzz LLP
2016 – Murray Oxford, Jani-King Canada
2015 – Graham Cooke, A&W Food Services of Canada Inc.
2014 – Terry Hould, ServiceMaster of Canada
2013 – Andrew Ogaranko, Pitblado Law
2012 – Blair Rebane, Borden Ladner Gervais LLP
2011 – Steve Iskierski, BMO Bank of Montreal
2010 – Cheryl Kostopoulos, Pak Mail Centers
2009 – Kevin Brillinger, Mister Transmission
2008 – Gigi Harding, Kwik Kopy Printing
2007 – Ken Pattenden, Taco Time
2006 – Stephane Breault, Van Houtte
2005 – Ken Pattenden, Taco Time
2004 – No Award Given
2003 – John Horsley and Richard Fontane, M&M Meat Shops
2002 – Bill Waring, De Dutch Pannekoek House; Graham Cooke, A&W Food Services of Canada Inc.
2001 – No Award Given
2000 – Sam Haman, MotoPhoto
1999 – Tony Sansotta, Practicar Systems Inc.; Leonard Polsky, Ferguson Gifford
1998 – No Award Given
1997 – Sharon Kauk; Eunice LaRocque, CruseShipCenters
1996 – Sherry MacLauchlan, McDonald’s Restaurants Canada
1995 – No Award Given
1994 – Charley Scrivener, CIBC
1993 – Richard Cunningham, CFA
1992 – Alex Konigsberg, Lapointe Rosentstein
1991 – Margaret T. Guerrier, CFA
1990 – William J. Coke, Franchise Recruiters
1989 – Dick Dinelle, Canada Post Corporation; Warren Swanson, Budget Brake & Muffler

*Recipient’s company at time of award presentation


Thank you to the following members who are National Sponsors and support CFA throughout the year:

CFA knock-out Logo

Canadian Franchise Association (CFA)
116-5399 Eglinton Ave W
Toronto, Ontario
M9C 5K6

T: 416-695-2896
F: 416-695-1950
H: Weekdays, 9am-5pm