Canadian Franchise Association


2016 CFA Recognition Award Recipients

CFA Honours Companies and Individuals for Outstanding Achievement with 2016 CFA Recognition Awards

During the CFA Gala Awards Presentation on Monday, April 18, CFA paid tribute to individuals and franchise systems for their outstanding achievements and contributions to the Canadian franchise community and for their extraordinary commitment and contributions to philanthropic endeavours.

The winners of the 2016 CFA Recognition Awards are:

Hall of Fame Award
Recipient: Charlwood Pacific Group
Presented in recognition of outstanding performance by a franchise company over a significant period of time.  Winners typically will have high brand recognition (on either a regional or national scope) and will be generally recognized for their solid business performance. They will exhibit leadership in the franchise community in many ways including helping to encourage excellence through sharing best practices, speaking engagements, being willing to mentor new franchisors, and raising the profile of the franchise business model.


Lifetime Achievement Award
Recipient: Giant Tiger
This award recognizes exceptional achievement and contribution to Canadian franchising and the community at large through demonstrated excellence throughout one’s lifetime and career in franchising. This award typically honours an individual who may be a franchisor, franchisee, or a support services provider.  Hallmarks of excellence include a significant level of profile and leadership recognition within the franchise community, speaking engagements, published articles, mentorship, and being an ambassador for franchising.


Outstanding Corporate Citizen Award
Recipient: Home Instead Senior Care, Canadian Tire


Given to a franchise system that has demonstrated genuine and ongoing concern and support for a community or social service group(s). Award recipients are selected based on their philanthropic innovation, support and impact to the community whether on a local, regional, national or global scale. Elements taken into consideration include involvement throughout the franchise system and integration into the corporate culture, profile given to the support recipient organization(s), sustainability, innovation in how funds are raised, demonstrated benefit to the community, and amount of funds raised.


Vince Nichols Volunteer Leadership Award
Recipient: Murray Oxford, Jani-King Canada

Vince Nichols was the Director of Franchising for Maple Leaf Mills and was highly involved as a volunteer with Canadian Franchise Association. His entrepreneurial spirit and dedication as a volunteer opened new opportunities for the CFA to better serve the franchise community. In the spirit of his passion for franchising and the Association this award is given to an individual who, through their volunteer activities and work as an ambassador for franchising, helps the CFA grow, evolve and deliver on its Vision and Mission.