Recognition Awards | Canadian Franchise Association

Recognition Awards


2014 Recognition Awards Recipients:

Hall Of Fame Award

Booster Juice

Lifetime Achievement Award

John Woodburn

Corporate Citizenship Award

A&W Food Services of Canada Inc.
CARSTAR Automotive Canada Inc.

Vince Nichols Memorial Award

Terry Hould, ServiceMaster of Canada


About the CFA Recognition Awards

These four awards are given annually by the Canadian Franchise Association to pay tribute to individuals and franchise systems for their outstanding achievements and contributions to the Canadian franchise community and for their commitment and contributions to philanthropic endeavours. The awards include:

  • Hall of Fame Award – outstanding performance and leadership by a franchise company over a significant period of time.
  • Lifetime Achievement Award – exceptional achievement and contribution to Canadian franchising.
  • Corporate Citizenship Award – philanthropic innovation, support and impact to the community.
  • Vince Nichols Memorial Award – entrepreneurial spirit and dedication as a volunteer, particularly with CFA.

CFA also recognizes long-standing members every year with Membership Milestone commemorative plaques for 10, 15, 20, 25 and 30-year membership anniversaries.

Hall of Fame Award:
Presented in recognition of outstanding performance by a franchise company over a significant period of time.  Winners typically will have high brand recognition (on either a regional or national scope) and will be generally recognized for their solid business performance. They will exhibit leadership in the franchise community in many ways including helping to encourage excellence through sharing best practices, speaking engagements, being willing to mentor new franchisors, and raising the profile of the franchise business model.


Lifetime Achievement Award:
This award recognizes exceptional achievement and contribution to Canadian franchising and the community at large through demonstrated excellence throughout one’s lifetime and career in franchising. This award typically honours an individual who may be a franchisor, franchisee, or a support services provider.  Hallmarks of excellence include a significant level of profile and leadership recognition within the franchise community, speaking engagements, published articles, mentorship, and being an ambassador for franchising.

Corporate Citizenship Award:
Given to a franchise system that has demonstrated genuine and ongoing concern and support for a community or social service group(s). Award recipients are selected based on their philanthropic innovation, support and impact to the community whether on a local, regional, national or global scale. Elements taken into consideration include involvement throughout the franchise system and integration into the corporate culture, profile given to the support recipient organization(s), sustainability, innovation in how funds are raised, demonstrated benefit to the community, and amount of funds raised.


Vince Nichols Memorial Award:
Vince Nichols was the Director of Franchising for Maple Leaf Mills and was highly involved as a volunteer with Canadian Franchise Association. His entrepreneurial spirit and dedication as a volunteer opened new opportunities for the CFA to better serve the franchise community. In the spirit of his passion for franchising and the Association this award is given to an individual who, through their volunteer activities and work as an ambassador for franchising, helps the CFA grow, evolve and deliver on its Vision and Mission.


Early each year, submissions are solicited from CFA members across Canada and winners are selected by committee based on merit. For each award consideration is given to a range of factors which include:

  • Achievement of the objectives being recognized by the award
  • Participation in and support of CFA, its Vision and Mission
  • Information provided in the submission.

Past Recognition Award Recipients:

Hall Of Fame Award

2014 – Booster Juice
2013 – Dairy Queen Canada
2012 – White Spot Restaurants
2011 – Second Cup
2010 – Expedia CruiseShipCenters
2009 – A&W Food Services of Canada
2008 – Tim Hortons
2007 – M&M Meat Shops
2006 – No Award Given
2005 – Cora’s Breakfast and Lunch
2004 – No Award Given
2003 – Boston Pizza International
2002 – McDonald’s Restaurants of Canada
2001 – No Award Given
2000 – Kwik Kopy Printing Canada
1999 – Tim Hortons
1998 – Algonquin Travel
1997 – Comac Food Group
1996 – Mr. Lube
1995 – M&M Meat Shops
1994 – Color Your World
1993 – First Choice Haircutters
1992 – Country Style Donuts CSD
1991 – McDonald’s Restaurants of Canada
1990 – Mr. Submarine Limited
1989 – Kentucky Fried Chicken Canada
1988 – Shoppers Drug Mart
1987 – The LIV Group

Lifetime Achievement Award

2014 – John Woodburn
2013 – Cora Tsouflidou
2012 – George Melville & Jim Treliving
2011 – Mac Voisin
2010 – Edward (Ned) Levitt
2009 – Frank Zaid
2008 – Louie Mele


Corporate Citizenship Award

2014 – A&W Food Services of Canada Inc., CARSTAR Automotive Canada Inc.
2013 – COBS Bread
2011 – Tim Hortons (TDL Corporation)
2010 – 4Refuel
2009 – White Spot Restaurants Ltd.
2008 – Home-Alyze, Joey’s Only Seafood Restaurants
2007 – Boston Pizza International
2006 – St. Louis Bar & Grill
2005 – M&M Meat Shops
2004 – No Award Given
2003 – McDonald’s Restaurants Canada, Ricky’s Family Restaurants, Humpty’s Restaurants International, Stonewater Group
2002 – The Firkin Group of Pubs, Shoppers Drug Mart, De Dutch Pannekoek House
2001 – Topper’s Pizza
2000 – Choice Hotels Canada, Cora’s Breakfast and Lunch, Golden Griddle Corporation
1999 – M&M Meat Shops, McDonald’s Restaurants Canada, Tim Hortons


Vince Nichols Memorial Award

2014 – Terry Hould, ServiceMaster of Canada
2013 – Andrew Ogaranko, Pitblado Law
2012 – Blair Rebane, Borden Ladner Gervais LLP
2011 – Steve Iskierski, BMO Bank of Montreal
2010 – Cheryl Kostopoulos
2009 – Kevin Brillinger, Mister Transmission
2008 – Gigi Harding, Kwik Kopy Printing
2007 – Ken Pattenden, Taco Time
2003 – John Horsley, M&M Meat Shops
2002 – Bill Waring, De Dutch Pannekoek House
2001 – No Award Given
2000 – Sam Haman, MotoPhoto
1999 – Tony Sansotta, Practicar Systems Inc.; Leonard Polsky, Ferguson Gifford
1996 – Sherry MacLauchlan, McDonald’s Restaurants Canada
1997 – Sharon Kauk; Eunice LaRocque, CruiseShipCenters
1994 – Charley Scrivener, CIBC
1993 – Richard Cunningham, CFA
1992 – Alex Konigsberg, Lapointe Rosentstein
1991 – Margaret T. Guerrier, CFA
1990 – William J. Coke, Franchise Recruiters
1989 – Dick Dinelle, Canada Post Corporation; Warren Swanson, Budget Brake & Muffler